Williamsport’s 13th Annual
A Peek Into Wardrobes Past
Join us as we celebrate the annual
Victorian Christmas,Williamsport Victorian's Secret "A Peek
Into Wardrobe's Past" this year, slated for November 18, 19
and 20, 2011.
Tours are planned of Victorian and
Historic Mansions and Churches along West Fourth Street, in Downtown,
and in the Vallamont and Greater Williamsport Area.
The Thomas Taber Museum and the Peter
Herdic Transportation Museum will be open for your enjoyment.
The mansions will feature area florists
or displays and will be hosted by guides in period dress. Musical
entertainment is provided throughout the afternoon at tour sites
courtesy of a Pennsylvania Partners on the Arts grant.
Tours of Museums, Homes and Churches,
Only 10 a.m. 5 p.m. on Saturday, Nov. 19, 2011. Thomas Taber Museum,
Millionaire’s Row, Vallamont & Williamsport Area. These
homes have great architectural interest and detail, some with
modern adaptations, some with historical significance and some
with legendary interest.
Tickets $15 per person , Cash or Check or for
Credit Cards call the Lycoming County Visitors Bureau at 1-800-358-9900.
Tickets can be purchased at the following locations: The Community
Arts Center, 220 West Fourth Street or The Lycoming County Visitors
Bureau, 210 William Street.
707 West Fourth Street
The Rowley House Museum
Theme: Mourning/Grieving Wear
From an originality standpoint and condition,
this circa 1888 home is one of the most significant Queen
Anne Victorian Houses in Pennsylvania. During the tour, Mr.
Kane will present a slide presentation in the Nassberg Media
Room on architecturally-significant homes in the Williamsport
Owner: Preservation Williamsport • Chair: Robert Kane,
Rowley House Curator Florist: Strawberry Basket, eliz Snyder
• Sponsor: Penn Square Apts.
Theme: Wedding Attire
Built in 1997, this spectacular house reflects
the Italian Villa style with a sprawling country club like
setting. The dining room boasts a hand painted mural, depicting
Christ with five children, by artist Marguerite Bierman. African
mahogany floors, cherry and mahogany carved fireplaces and
a circular floating staircase are a few of the many unique
characteristics. Additionally this home will feature some
of the finest artisans showcasing their work which will be
available for purchase.
Owner: Matthew and Yvonne DiRocco • Chair: Amy Dowling
and Yvonne DiRocco
Florist: Strawberry Basket, eliz Snyder • Sponsor- Airmen
HVAC Service LLC
1401 Campbell Street
Theme: Beach and Recreation Wear
This is a classic 1920’s Art Deco house.
It is defined by period-appropriate brass entry doors, stucco
exterior walls and an exposed brick foundation. The overall
boxy style accented with curved corners, curved balcony, and
tall narrow windows all add to the Deco period feel of this
Owner: Tony DiSalvo III • Chair: The DiSalvo family
and Pat Camille
Florist: Mystic Gardens Floral Studio • Sponsor: Albarano
West Fourth Street
The Elias Deemer House
Theme: Travel Wear
This home and accompanying carriage house,
built in 1887 by architect Eber Culver, is an outstanding
example of Queen Anne craftsmanship, especially the cherry
wainscoting in the foyer and front hall as well as three floors
of cherry stairway railings. The house has undergone considerable
restoration, most recently the exterior and dining room. Featured
in the carriage house is a 1929 Packard limousine.
Owner: Daniel H. Llewellyn and Dr. Susan G. S. Anderson •
Chair: Ruthanne Crotty
Florist: Janet’s Floral Creations • Sponsor: Impact
Theme: Evening Attire
This charming 1937 home was designed as a Pennsylvania
farmhouse by renowned architect, R. Brognard Okie. The façade
is primarily undressed field stone and mortar in the English
tradition. Throughout the home, one sees magnificent cherry
wood trim and planked pine flooring. The multiple dormers,
blind window shutters and shingle style roof help to capture
the English country feel of this home.
Owner: Dina Wilson • Chair: Dina Wilson, Sue Tucker
• Florist: Nevill’s Flowers • Sponsor: 3D
West Fourth Street
The DuBois House
Theme: Unmentionables and Accessories
A distinctive Italianate style Victorian home,
defined by stucco walls with coinstone corners, large protruding
eaves, heavy cornices decorated with double corbels, and wonderful
curved arches above each window. The windows themselves retain
the original curved mullions separating each window into decorative
panes. This house was built between 1865 and 1875, which was
the peak of Italianate Villa architecture.
Owner: Elizabeth Miele • Chair: Elizabeth Miele •
Florist: Special Occasion
Florals- Karen Ruhl, Michelle Ronneberg • Sponsor: City
The Harris Home
Theme: Day Wear
This beautiful New England Colonial frame house
built in 1924 by architect Carl Tallman, features a traditional
center hall plan with gum paneling in the living room and
exquisite paneling in the dining room. Stained glass windows
adorn the center staircase with views of the newly landscaped
patio and gardens.
Owner: Gordon Harris and Dr. Nathalie Lavallee-Harris •
Chair: Nicole Nardi
Florist: Nevill’s Flowers • Sponsor: Franie and
The Huffman/Walter House
Theme: Children’s Fashions and Toys
This is a remarkable “turn of the century”
house with stunning architectural details: wraparound porch,
elegant columns, leaded glass windows, coffered ceilings,
pocket doors and prom staircase. A Grampian treasure, with
a third floor bedroom that is a child’s dream.
Owners: Scott and Erica Walter • Chair: The Junior League
of Williamsport Inc. - Laurie Ade
Florist: Special Occasions Florals- Karen Ruhl, Michelle Ronneberg
• Sponsor: Eagle Rock Winery
West Fourth Street
Thomas Taber Museum
Lycoming County Historical Society
Visitors to the Lycoming County Historical
Society will be enchanted with a display of late 19th - early
20th century dolls, miniature furniture and selected toys.
The exhibit will feature the doll collection of Margaret Myers
Lamade (Mrs. Dietrick Wilson), donated to the museum in 1993.
Guests may also stroll through the fine arts gallery, which
features works by Severin Roesen, J. Wesley Little, and John
Sloan. They will be swept back in time by viewing the recreated
frontier room, the Greek Revival Parlor, and the Ralston General
Store. Also, visitors may explore the dynamic history of the
region’s American Indian culture, the military heritage
of the county and the logging and lumbering industry of the
19th century. And what a visit to the LCHS would be complete
without viewing the LaRue Shempp Toy Train Collection.
380 West Fourth Street
First Baptist Church
This landmark church was originally designed
and built by Eber Culver in 1854. It has been served
by 21 pastors and six interim pastors in three different buildings
all on the same corner of ground donated by Peter Herdic.
Peter's wife was a member of the congregation. After
being destroyed by floods, the original building was torn
down in 1889. The main sanctuary was completed in 1914.
The church is an example of the Romanesque style of architecture,
with mountain stone quarried from this area. The present
church is known for its beautiful sanctuary with the eight
stained glass windows depicting Baptist patriarchs. The
jewel of all the windows faces West Fourth Street and depicts
the baptism of Jesus. Designed in London and built in New
York City by Young and Bonawitz in 1914, the windows were
taken apart to be transported to Williamsport.
700 West Fourth Street
Built in 1886 by Amos Wagner on land donated by Peter Herdic,
the church was built to service the Irish Catholic community.
It is an example of the Romanesque style of architecture,
and the sandstone came from the nearby Ralston Quarry.
The church has a multi-gabled slate roof and walls with colored
belt courses. There are 43 arched stained glass windows.
The entryway and entry doors are semi-circular. The
bell tower is open with a decorative cornice and patterned
stone. The center tower was capped when three workers
fell to their deaths during construction. The interior
has marble altars and Tiffany windows, including "The
Accession of Christ" behind the main altar installed
in the early 1900s. Note the use of marble and gold.
The church seats 1,000 people.
844 West Fourth Street
Trinity Episcopal Church
Built in 1875 by Culver and Thorn, the church was paid for
by Peter Herdic, who donated not only the land but also the
entire building to Trinity Parish for one dollar as long as
the pews remain "forever free." His father-in-law,
Judge Maynard, presented the church with the first set of
nine-bell Westminster chimes in America, the same as heard
in the Big Ben Tower of London. An example of English
Gothic architecture, the church is built with stone quarried
from Bald Eagle Mountain at Muncy and brownstone from Hummelstown.
Note the pointed arches and windows, steeply pitched colored
slate roof, and 265-foot spire. In an 1876 issue of the Parish
Dial, the following passage appears concerning the church's
windows: "Words cannot paint the loveliness of these
windows. The makers, Aickin and Isaac, Philadelphia, have
conscientiously adhered to the true idea of glass staining,
which does not consist in painting the various colors upon
large sheets of glass, but in leading together separate pieces
so as to present a transparent mosaic. The side windows show
exquisite geometrical designs.